Chinese Radishes

Raphanus sativus of the Brassicaceae family. The green ones, on both the right and left are ‘Chinese Green Luobo’ Radishes, while the pink one in the center is a China Rose Radish. I bought these little pretty nuggets last from the Indian Ridge Farm, the vendor that sells across from me at the Peachtree Road Farmers Market (one day i’ll re-ask his name, and remember it, but I’m a little embarrassed to do so at this point…). This farmer grows much of his own crops, but forages quite a bit-mostly up in North Georgia. He has a quirky sensibility, quiet, yet very appreciative. Sometimes he wears a shirt I like that has skeleton taxonomies, and when it’s cold he sports gloves with skeleton hand bones.

I quick pickled the radishes. Starting by heating a bit of sesame and olive oil in a pan, I added mustard seeds and let them sizzle until I heard some pop. Turning the heat to a low, I added the thinly sliced radishes and coated them in the oil, and sprinkled some tumeric on top as well. In a separate pot, I mixed white vinegar, apple cider vinegar, water and salt on high heat. Waiting for the vinegar mix to boil, I packed my radishes into two small jars, sticking some garlic cloves at the bottom of the jar too. When the vinegar boiled, I simply poured it over the packed jars and fastened a lid on top.

